Can You Really Say That You Take care of Yourself?

     Most of us are just too busy to find time to take care of ourselves. I’m a big promoter of “self-care”. I find it helpful to schedule self-care time like any of your other appointments. Your sleep and what you eat, your amount of exercise and relaxation determines so much of how you feel mentally and physically each day.

Please read this article because it’s quite funny and familiar at first. It describes the difficulty of cleaning up your act! It uses the word “diet” which I don’t like because they don’t work. So let’s change that word to “healthy eating.” That’s something you can maintain. The important thing is to find balance in your life. That includes your schedule; work, partner, family, kids, and ME TIME!

Again read the article, it may inspire you to clean up your act and it also gives you a floor plan of how to do it based on the author’s experience.

 

Healthy Habits: A Month of Living Perfectly
 
What would happen if instead of just thinking about taking better care of yourself (eat right, get enough sleep, exercise, floss, blah, blah, blah), you went ahead and—urk—did it? Would it be awful? Would you feel any better?
 
My habits weren’t horrible, but they weren’t great, either. No sodas, fast food, or cigarettes, and I ate my share of broccoli…but I also liked heavy cream in my coffee, butter with dinner, and fortifying spoonfuls of ice cream when afternoon hunger hit. If I was stuck on what to have for lunch, the solution invariably included melted cheese. I was too fond of my evening cocktail(s). I exercised hard, but sporadically, and I never stretched. I wore sunscreen…sometimes. I usually forgot to floss. Etc.

I’d always gotten by. Mostly because of dumb genetic luck, I’m thin, with low blood pressure and cholesterol (I know, you hate me already). But I couldn’t deny seeing some changes as I hit my 50s: less energy, a growing pot belly, pain that I assumed was early arthritis in my neck whenever I looked over my shoulder. Caring for aged parents and in-laws offered a none-too-gentle reminder that this was just the beginning.

But could it be slowed if I were very, very good? If I really cleaned up my act? What if, for a month, I embraced every health dictate we all know we should follow but blithely ignore?

Read more: http://www.oprah.com/health/Healthy-Habits-A-Month-of-Living-Perfectly#ixzz1UePj1yNK

About Ilissa Banhazl

Ilissa Banhazl is a licensed marriage and family psychotherapist, former grade school teacher and holds a masters degree in reading. She has a private practice in Glendora, CA and lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and three children. She specializes in adult, adolescent, individual, couple, and family relationship counseling as well as eating disorder treatment and recovery. She facilitates a Women’s Support Group in Glendora as well as a Women’s Disordered Eating & Body Image Group. Ilissa authors 3 therapy blogs, Marriage and Family, Eating Disorders and Group Therapy. You can follow her at FB and Twitter. http://www.ilissabanhazlmft.com or http://www.eatingdisordersgroup.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

