Calling All Sports Widows

Its football season again! If you are a woman who enjoys football then you can share that with your partner. If you’re not a sports fan you may feel like your losing your husband until the season ends!

 Here are some suggestions to get you through the season and get what you need from your husband as well.

I always find that when my husband watches the game it gives me the opportunity to do some things that I like to do. I might:

1. Visit with a girlfriend

2. Do something with my kids

3. Go shopping

4. Catch up on work or reading

5. Get my nails done, etc.

That’s a fine idea for keeping busy while your husband is watching the game.

I suggest you and your husband talk about the season. There needs to be some balance. He needs to help you with things and spend time with you and the kids. So how about having him choose the most important games and skip a few to spend time with you.

Also, it’s nice sometimes to join your husband in what he enjoys. Pick a few games that you can watch with him. Make some yummy snacks and drinks and enjoy yourselves. The entire game might be too long so just watch for a little while. You’re husband will appreciate you joining him in something that he enjoys.

 These are my suggestion for getting through the football season. If you have any other ideas please leave a comment and may the best team, I mean, couple win!

About Ilissa Banhazl

Ilissa Banhazl is a licensed marriage and family psychotherapist, former grade school teacher and holds a masters degree in reading. She has a private practice in Glendora, CA and lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and three children. She specializes in adult, adolescent, individual, couple, and family relationship counseling as well as eating disorder treatment and recovery. She facilitates a Women’s Support Group in Glendora as well as a Women’s Disordered Eating & Body Image Group. Ilissa authors 3 therapy blogs, Marriage and Family, Eating Disorders and Group Therapy. You can follow her at FB and Twitter. http://www.ilissabanhazlmft.com or http://www.eatingdisordersgroup.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calling All Sports Widows

  1. Not a bad idea…..
    There are so many games, and by missing a few of them it provides quality time with your loved ones. I must apologize up front to many of my fellow Football Fans, but I am married to a pretty incredible woman who encouraged I watch the opening games this past weekend. By doing so, I know the teams and match ups I want to watch in the coming weeks. All the rest, I do not have a problem missing…… it is a win, win for us!!! Also, she watches those truly important games with me, and I watch “Dancing with the Stars” with her!!! I know guys…. but I have found out, if you give a little, you win a lot more.

Leave a Reply

